Close

School Community Council (SCC)

The School Community Council (SCC) is a shared governance council formed by the parents and staff of Newman Elementary in accordance with state law. The SCC was established in 1974 by the Salt Lake School Board, which has empowered each SCC to make decisions regarding their school.

The SCC is a cooperative means to improving the educational programs and conditions of the school. It is the responsibility of the SCC to decide all issues on the basis of what is in the best interest of the children.

It is a wonderful opportunity: to be aware of the administration and activities of the school and the considerations that go into making decisions, to offer viewpoints, and to participate in the best interest of all of our students.

Who are the members of SCC? Parents, Faculty & Staff and Principal.

What are typical issues addressed by the SCC? School Improvement Plan, Grant Applications, Program Development/Review, Achievement, School Calendar, Attendance/Discipline, School Trust Land Issues

Our meetings are held on the third Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m.  Agendas and minutes will be posted on the bulletin board outside of the main office and on this site.

 

Role Name Email
SCC Chairperson Melissa Wilson Lissamalin74@gmail.com
SCC Vice Chair Whitney Unga whitneyu@hotmail.com
Parent Members: Margarita Perez margarita.perez1291@gmail.com
  Andrea Garavito Martinez agaravitomartinez@gmail.com
  Rachel Medina rmedina801@gmail.com
  Tonya Allred Tonya.allred@gmail.com
  Sarah Walker walkerfamily9.2011@gmail.com
     
Staff Members: Roxanne Nix-Sharr (Principal) roxanne.nix-sharr@slcschools.org
  Jason Finch  (Vice-Principal) jason.finch@slcschools.org
  Manessa Adams (Faculty and SIC) manessa.adams@slcschools.org
  Ann Syphus (Faculty and SIC) jean.syphus@slcschools.org

 

School Community Council Meetings 2019 - 2020

Meeting Date Agendas Minutes
September 19, 2019 English English
October 15, 2019 English
November 21, 2019 English

© Newman Elementary School | Salt Lake City School District